Trip.ioTHE CAR-FREE FIELD GUIDEChinese ↗

Travel guides

Luggage on China's high-speed trains: the two limits, and where your bag goes

Separate the per-passenger allowance from the per-item size line, measure your real bag against the 130 cm EMU figure, and know what the official rules say — and do not say — about checks and storage.

Written and reviewed

Independent desk research, not a field test. No booking, phone call or service was tested. Numbered references support sourced facts; unnumbered preparation steps are editorial advice.

The short answer

China Railway publishes two different numbers that travellers tend to merge into one: a free cabin luggage allowance per passenger, and a per-item limit. The official 12306 English FAQ states a free allowance of 20 kg for other passengers, 10 kg for children including those travelling free, and 35 kg for diplomats, with a maximum dimension of 160 cm in total for traditional trains (rod-shaped items 200 cm) and 130 cm for EMU trains, and a maximum weight for each item of 20 kg. [1]

So the question is not "can I bring a suitcase" — you can — but "is this bag inside the per-item size line for the train type I booked, and is my total over the per-passenger allowance". This is desk research checked on 24 September 2026; we measured nothing, weighed nothing and travelled on no train.

1. Three limits, not one

Per passenger. The free cabin luggage allowance is a total per person: 20 kg for an ordinary passenger, 10 kg for a child including a child travelling without a seat, 35 kg for a diplomat. [1] It is an allowance for what you carry yourself through security, onto the train and into the carriage.

Per item. The same FAQ caps each individual item at 20 kg, and by dimension: 160 cm total for traditional trains, 130 cm for EMU trains, with rod-shaped items up to 200 cm. Foldable wheelchairs used by people with disabilities are outside that range. [1]

Train type. The 130 cm figure is the EMU figure — the G, D and C trains most visitors book — while conventional trains carry the larger 160 cm number. A bag that is legal on one train type can be over the line on the other, so check which service your ticket is for rather than remembering a single number. [1]

MTR's cross-boundary high-speed rail page publishes the same weight structure for the Hong Kong West Kowloon route: 20 kg for an adult, 10 kg for a child including children travelling for free, 35 kg for a diplomat, and a sum of length, width and height of hand-carried baggage not exceeding 130 cm. [2] It is a useful second confirmation of the numbers on the route foreign visitors use most, and it is a different operator's page — it does not extend the rule to routes it does not run.

2. Measuring the bag you actually own

The dimension limit is a sum of length plus width plus height, not a diagonal and not a commercial suitcase label such as "24-inch" or "28-inch". Measure the packed bag including wheels, handles and any pocket that bulges, add the three sides together, and compare against 130 cm for an EMU service. A bag that looks modest by marketing size can sit above the arithmetic line, and a long thin bag can pass it.

Doing this before you leave home is the only version of the check that still gives you options — a different bag, a second traveller's allowance, or a shipping arrangement made at your own pace.

3. What the published rules say about enforcement: nothing

Here is the honest gap. The official FAQ we retrieved publishes the limits and publishes no measurement procedure, no tolerance, no fine schedule and no statement about how consistently the limits are applied. We did not find an official page describing a weighing or measuring step at the gate, and we do not invent one.

Travellers' public accounts conflict. One thread asks how strict the limits are before a Hong Kong to Guangzhou to Shanghai trip; replies range from "in 8 years and countless trains, I have never seen them measure or weigh a suitcase" to a traveller who reports staff bringing out a tape measure for a large bike bag at station check-in. [4] Another traveller reports the biggest problem was rack space rather than any check. [4]

The defensible reading is narrow: the published limit is the rule, and anecdote is not a schedule of enforcement. Plan to the published numbers, and treat "nobody checks" as a hope rather than a plan — especially on a day when your only alternative is missing the train.

4. Where the bag goes once you are aboard

The 12306 FAQ governs what you may bring; it does not promise you space to put it. Trade press describing carriages points to dedicated storage areas at the ends of carriages and space above the seats, and warns against blocking aisles and doors. [3] We could not retrieve an official page guaranteeing a specific storage spot for a specific bag, so treat location guidance as orientation rather than a reserved place.

Practical consequence: a bag inside the limits can still have no free rack if you board late on a busy service, and a bag over the per-item line creates a problem at exactly the moment you cannot solve it. Public asking is as much about space as about size — one English-language thread is framed as anxiety about luggage rather than a rules question, and its top reply answers with carriage layout instead of a limit. [5] If storage matters more than weight to you — a large case, a peak-hour departure — that is a reason to prefer an earlier boarding station or a smaller bag, not a reason to assume a space is held.

5. If your bag is over the line

Trade press describes a station checked-baggage option with looser limits than carry-on, at 200 cm total dimension and up to 50 kg per bag, arranged at the station before departure. [3] We did not retrieve the official page for that service, so we do not quote its terms as a rule, and we did not verify that every station offers it. Confirm at the station ticket office on the day, with time to spare, before you rely on it.

The alternative that needs no verification at all is reducing the load: split one heavy case into two bags across two passengers to stay inside both the per-item and per-passenger numbers, or ship a bag ahead to your hotel. Both move the problem to a day when you can still act on it.

6. What this guide does not establish

We tested no station, no scale and no gate. The numeric limits come from the official 12306 English FAQ and the MTR cross-boundary page, both retrieved on 24 September 2026 and both undated as to publication; limits can change with the rules they sit under. Enforcement accounts are traveller reports and prove nothing about your journey. Checked-baggage terms are trade-press reporting that we flag as unverified. Security screening of what is inside the bag — prohibited items, aerosols, blades — is a separate question covered by our separate guide on China train security. For the Chinese version, see the Chinese edition.

Sources and freshness

  • [1] 12306 China Railway — English website FAQ (free cabin luggage limitation)

    China Railway 12306 (official ticketing website) · Source date: Not stated · Accessed: 2026-09-24

    Region: Mainland China railway network; EMU (G/D/C) versus traditional trains. Undated official FAQ (no publication date shown; retrieved 2026-09-24). Publishes limits only: no measurement procedure, no tolerance, no penalty schedule and no enforcement statement, which is why this guide makes no claim about how consistently limits are checked. Not applicable to airlines, to Hong Kong's own MTR urban lines, or to any non-rail mode.

  • [2] High Speed Rail — Frequently Asked Questions (baggage restrictions)

    MTR Corporation (Hong Kong West Kowloon Station high-speed rail) · Source date: Not stated · Accessed: 2026-09-24

    Region: Cross-boundary high-speed rail at Hong Kong West Kowloon Station only. Undated operator FAQ retrieved 2026-09-24; scoped to the West Kowloon cross-boundary service this operator runs. It corroborates the weight figures on that route but is not a national instrument and does not describe enforcement.

  • [3] China Train Luggage: Allowance, Size & Restrictions (Trip.com)

    Trip.com (commercial travel media, bylined 'Bethy') · Source date: 2026-04-16 · Accessed: 2026-09-24

    Region: Mainland China trains; carriage storage layout and a station checked-baggage option. Secondary commercial source (a company that sells tickets) bylined with a page date of 16 April 2026. Used only for on-board storage orientation and to report that a station checked-baggage option exists; its numbers are NOT used as the rule, because the official 12306 figures are cited for that. We did not retrieve the official checked-baggage page and did not verify station-by-station availability.

  • [4] How strict is luggage on high speed trains (r/travelchina)

    Reddit r/travelchina, public English-language traveller thread · Source date: 2025-10-26 · Accessed: 2026-09-24

    Region: Public English-language travel forum; demand signal only. Traveller opinion, not policy. Replies conflict with each other (never weighed, versus a tape measure produced at check-in), which is exactly why this guide reports the gap instead of forecasting enforcement. No search-volume claim.

  • [5] Anxious about luggage in high speed trains (r/travelchina) — search-result snippet

    Reddit r/travelchina, public English-language traveller thread (SERP snippet only) · Source date: Not stated · Accessed: 2026-09-24

    Region: Public English-language travel forum; demand signal only. Search-result title and snippet only; the thread page was not read. Snippet is a commenter's claim, not policy. No search-volume claim.